Skip navigation

Crossroads Awarded $45,000 to Support Program Enhancements

BOSTON, MA – Crossroads in Duxbury was recently awarded $45,000 through the FY21 After-School and Out-of-School Time (ASOST) Quality Enhancements grant program. Funds are provided pursuant to line-item 7061-9611 of the FY2021 state budget and eligible applicants included Massachusetts public school districts, non-public schools, and public and private community-based organizations (CBOs) working with experience running after-school and out-of-school time (ASOST) or providing professional development to Massachusetts ASOST programs.


“Throughout the years, I’ve been able to witness the positive and lasting impact Crossroads has had on our youth,” said Senator O’Connor (R-Weymouth). “Crossroads is an incredibly deserving organization – all of their programming serves to place kids in an environment that allows them to gain new skills, make positive choices, and develop healthy relationships with peers and adults. This funding will allow them to continue their great work in the months ahead.”


Crossroads delivers multi-year summer and school-year programs which prepare Massachusetts young people for postsecondary success and to serve as leaders in their careers, communities, and beyond. Their programs, serving grades 3—12, are designed for youth to build long-term relationships with mentors and peers who encourage personal achievement while engaging in a multi-year curriculum focused on social/emotional learning, leadership development, college & career success, and civic engagement.


The purpose of this state funded grant program is to enhance ASOST programs and services to improve the academic, physical, social, and emotional wellness of public and non-public school-age youth during the school year and the summer months. ASOST is inclusive of before-school, after-school, vacation and summer programming as well as extensions to remote learning enrichment center/program hours beyond school time.


Senator O’Connor represents the Plymouth and Norfolk district, which includes the towns of Cohasset, Duxbury, Hingham, Hull, Marshfield, Norwell, Scituate, and Weymouth. Senator O’Connor and his staff may be reached via phone at 617-722-1646 or via email at Patrick.O’[email protected].




Continue Reading

Read More